‘Seven’

I rewatched ‘Seven’ last week when Jeremy was out. Wow! Even better second time round. Saw it when it came out ten years ago and it got under my skin so much I referenced it in several poems in Transformatrix. I was also reminded of Don Paterson’s poem, Rain. It rains on every day of the film apart from the last one. It really feels like Armaggedon. It’s a pretty bleak film but I like noir so it’s in my top 10. Or maybe even my top 3. The dialogue is also brilliant, and the way the film uses colour, especially blood as a contrast to the grey. (And guess what, it’s on Channel 5 this week. Talk about coincidence.) Yeah, it probably influenced Bloodshot Monochrome  too. The idea was to watch something brilliant to inspire me to great writing. I certainly woke up the next morning inspired but unfortunately it wasn’t a writing day so I couldn’t harness the energy.

Went to Canterbury yesterday on an Artist date (to try to get into the mode) and took a photo of the cathedral – this is not it. I find it impossible to ignore it from the High Street. It draws me in every time. It was good quiet time.

 The main idea was to go the the Canterbury Tells night in Coffee and Corks, an atmospheric intimate venue next to the cathedral (but seems like it’s closing down soon??) Anyway, was great to hook up with East Kent writers I was expecting like Vicky Wilson who’s one of the laureate  Squad and ones I wasn’t – like Dianne Langford from Whitstable whom I got to know from a Centerprise group in Hackney twenty years ago. There was mainly good poetry and one or two poetic gems. I enjoyed turning up unanounced and performed R&B for the Music, Love (and Food) theme.

A fun evening and it kind of fed into today’s writing which was not quite getting blood out of  a stone but was at times painful.

So what seems to be the problem? I think the main one is The Parson’s Tale isn’t a tale so it’s hard to know what to do with it. I started a tale with an inciting incident and some idea where it was going but I might need a much tighter plot beforehand to give me momentum. Having said that, there were one or two nice lines and if I can just get into the groove (thanks Tupac for being such a genius and making me cry listening to Brenda’s Got a Baby) maybe I’ll come up with something that inspires me. You can get away with reading an OK straight poem but you’ve got to get into the groove for a rap or you’ll never pull it off. So I need to get deep into the story and identify with the characters more. Or they’ll just be types in a mediaval morality play. Pride. Envy. Lust. Should surely be able to have some fun. Guess I’m also aware I need to ref Chaucer’s original more language-wise but could well try to do that at later edit. Get the raw story down first then play with it. Add the images and pep up the language then. Time is tight. Need to act as if I have to finish it the end of this week. It feels like it. As they say on Numberjacks, anything can happen…

Leave a Reply

