That Beatin’ Rhythm

So why the big gap between the last post and this? Well, I set myself the impossible task of at least starting a version of every tale by the end of January. I missed the deadline but now have only one tale I haven’t worked on. Wanted to share some of the new writing.

I’ve just put the finishing touches on this experimental piece made almost entirely from Northern Soul song titles. It’s a version of The Merchant’s Tale. As it’s quite long, here’s the first two paragraphs. Enjoy!

Once Upon a Time, in the Land Of 1000 Dances, January married May. What is This Thing Called Love? Some say, Love Is a Serious Business; some say, Love Is a Trap. He’s The Batchelor, She’s Not the Marrying Kind. He Mr Big Shot Got My Mind Made Up and she a Country Girl Talkin’ ’Bout Poor Folks, Thinkin’ ’Bout My Folks. He said I’ve Struck It Rich but some say she Cashing In. He Too Old for her and yet, they Just Like Romeo and Juliet. Adam and Eve. 

And I Damien, Agent 00 Soul from the Backstreet, the Image Of a Man. Saw a Job Opening for a Mr Clean to Lend a Hand to Little Old Man, January. He bought the House For Sale, The House Next Door, huge as a Haunted Castle. I fell The Big Oak Tree to make furniture an’ sing The Work Song as I clearing Bricks, Broken Bottles and Sticks outside. There’s a Storm Warning and I Run for Cover from the Spring Rain, The First Time I see May, the Lady In Green. She a Flower Child, a Wild One. I say Stop Girl, but she Keep On Walking, Surrounded By a Ray Of Sunshine. Am I Cold, Am I Hot. I Got the Fever. I Love Her So Much (It Hurts Me).

3 thoughts on “That Beatin’ Rhythm

  1. Patience, it’s been far too long, but we used to go to the 100 club allnighters probably over 10 years ago with Louise and Peter and Brian. How are you doing. Would love you to come to our event Soul Freedom Live, in Clifton Bristol and perform some of your poems, let me know Beki x

    • Hi Beki, nice to hear from you. Ah, those happy, carefree days on the soul scene. Great memories. Did you like my opening of ‘That Beatin’ Rhythm?’ It’s a four-page story. Would be lovely to perform at your event when book’s out in 2014, if not before. Will be touring book from next April and looking for a range of places to showcase the work. Do you have other performers on? Will email you direct so we can touch base properly! Patiencexx

  2. Carefree !! that we didn’t have our babies, mine are now 9 and 11… Arghh
    I found That beatin’ Rhythm, when I was looking up Arts Council funding for a project I’m trying to do myself and I found you…! Hopefully our regular night will still be going next year, we’re always evolving and also have events in New York and Atlanta. ! But would love to hear you perform it before then and to catch up… ! Here’s my email bekiwills@hotmail.com Beki x

Leave a Reply

